Dr. Okezie I. Aruoma of the Society for Free Radical Research-Africa and the International Association of Medical and Biomedical Researchers named as one of the 2012 Fellows of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists

Dr. Okezie I. Aruoma receiving an award plaque from Dr. David Mitchell, President of AAPS.
(Photo Credit: AAPS and Lagniappe Studios, LLC)

Dr. Okezie I. Aruoma, Professor of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences, Associate Dean, Research and Global Affairs at the American University of Health Sciences (AUHS), and Executive Chairman, Society for Free Radical Research Africa (SFRR-Africa) was elected to the Fellow Status in recognition of his contribution to the field of pharmaceutical sciences by the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) at their 2012 annual meeting and exposition October 14-18, in Chicago.

Dr. Aruoma’s research has focused on developing biomarkers and phytoceutical/nutraceutical agents (from fruits, vegetables and medicinal plants) that have the potential to provide early diagnostic and preventive treatment for diseases with overt inflammation including diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, cancers, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. Dr. Aruoma’s research has provided evidence in a CNS model showing that neurotransmitter systems are differentially affected by beta-amyloid-aggregates which may benefit from antioxidant strategies. Additionally, the outcome of recent clinical trials using tea and fermented papaya preparation suggest that their significant effects on markers of inflammation plasma uric acid and C-reactive protein levels may not only benefit individuals at high risk of cardiovascular events but augment prescription drug therapy.

Professor Theeshan Bahorun, National Research Chair, ANDI Centre of Excellence for Biomedical and Biomaterials Research (University of Mauritius), President of SFRR-Africa and Vice President of the International Association of Medical and Biomedical Researchers (IAMBR) commends the achievement of Dr Aruoma and observes that pharmaceutical scientists have a broad base of scientific knowledge and play major roles at pharmaceutical companies, universities, and government agencies such as the Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Pharmacopeia, and the National Institutes of Health. Dr Aruoma was the President of SFRR-Africa from 2000-2008 and was pivotal in pioneering the direction of research and development within the region. Dr Aruoma is one of the members of the International advisory committee of ANDI Centre of Excellence for Biomedical and Biomaterials Research.

Dr. Aruoma was also awarded the 2012 Research and Publication Achievement Award from the American Black-Health-Systems Pharmacists for outstanding meritorious achievements in pharmaceutical sciences and his ongoing pursuit of excellence, to which SFRR-Africa and IAMBR proudly salute.

Dr. Aruoma was awarded an MBA in business administration from the University of Warwick Business School, a PhD in biochemistry and MSc in biopharmacy from King’s College London, a DSc (Doctor of Science, a higher doctorate degree) in medical biochemistry from the University of London, and a BSc in biochemistry from the University of Sussex. Dr Aruoma is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (CChem FRSC), Fellow of the American College of Nutrition (FACN) and a Chartered Scientist (CSci) of the Science Council, UK.

Founded in 1986, AAPS is an individual membership society of approximately 12,000 pharmaceutical scientists who joined together to serve the public and their own common professional interests. AAPS is a nonprofit organization that serves as an educational, scientific, and scholarly body. The organization has a strong commitment to the recognition of select AAPS members through their designation as Fellow. The primary criterion for election to Fellow status is professional excellence in the fields relevant to the mission of AAPS. Election to Fellow status is based on the individual's documented sustained level of superior and distinguished professional achievement and contributions in a relevant field.

The International Association of Medical and Biomedical Researchers (IAMBR) was founded at the SSR Medical College, Mauritius, in 2010, with the objectives of motivating and sensitizing medical and biomedical professionals towards medical research through symposia, workshops and conferences. The IAMBR is an international multidisciplinary organization that brings together professionals from basic and clinical medical fields as well as members from allied sciences.